Why I Collect 78 RPM Records by Ken McPherson


I suppose my interest in music from the 1920’s and 1930’s began,  some 30 years ago, when I bought an LP of Bobby Hackett, not knowing at the time, I would be put in a trance by his deep melodic cornet and trumpet playing style. At the same time, I was unaware that my apartment was directly below that of the greatest authority on Jack Teagarden in the world, Joe Showler. He heard me playing my music, and invited me up to listen to his collection of Teagarden 78’s. I was fascinated by his collection-there were 16″  transcriptions, newspaper articles, a massive film collection, LP’s on Teagarden, etc. From that moment on, I regarded the sound of that era as real music, and have never looked back.

He later introduced me to a group of collector’s in the Toronto area, who gathered every so often to play Jazz and Ragtime 78’s, and discuss the in’s and out’s of who were on the records, and often said Brian Rust was wrong! He guided me in how to build my first collection of 78’s, which later had to be sold when I got married and had children. Some 20 years have pasted since then, and three years ago I got the bug to collect again.

 

Today I have more that 2000 78’s in my collection, spanning 1918-1939. I collect Dance Bands with Hot Solos. and Jazz. Oh yes, it is Saturday…I am off to get more records!

3 Responses to “Why I Collect 78 RPM Records by Ken McPherson”

  1. I was given a box of 65 old 78s recently, mostly back label victors from the 20s, and blue and red victrolas, and some misc others.
    Where should I go so figure out what they are worth, and sell them?

  2. Todd McPherson Says:

    Hello,

    I am looking to chat with Ken McPherson about the Paul Whiteman Band and Tuba Player – Norman McPherson. Drop a line –

  3. louis palumbo Says:

    HI ARE YOU INTERESTED IN BUYING BRIAN RUST JAZZ AND DANCE BAND DISCOGRAPHIES ALSO BOOKS ON EARLY
    78 MANUFACTURERS AND LABELS, (PRIVATE 78 COLLECTOR

Leave a Reply

